Vermont Dive Flags
Rules for VT divers and boaters
If you have any Vermont scuba diving links or dive flag information to recommend, let me know.
For Divers in Vermont
According to the Vermont Statutes Online (§ 3381. Divers; flag required):
(a) As used in this section:
(1) "Diver" means any person who is wholly submerged in the waters of the state and is equipped with a face mask and snorkel or "underwater breathing apparatus."
(2) "Divers-down flag" means a flag that is either square or rectangular, to approximately four units high by five units long, with a one unit diagonal stripe. The divers-down flag shall have a white diagonal stripe on a red background. The stripe shall begin at the top staff-side of the flag and extend diagonally to the opposite lower corner. The flag shall be free-flying and shall be removed when all divers are out of the water. The minimum size shall be 12 by 12 inches.
(b) All divers shall prominently display a divers-down flag in the area in which the diving occurs, other than when diving in an area customarily used for swimming only. Persons diving together as a group, in the same diving area, shall display at least one flag.
(c) A person who violates this section shall be fined not more than $100.00 for each violation. (Added 1987, No. 140 (Adj. Sess.), § 2, eff. April 8, 1988.)
As far as we can find, there is no specification in Vermont about how close you have to stay to your dive flag.
For Boaters in Vermont
According to the Vermont Statutes Online (§ 3311. Operation of vessels; prohibited acts):
A person shall not operate any vessel, except a nonmotorized canoe, a nonmotorized rowboat or a police or emergency vessel, within 200 feet of a divers-down flag.
chris-(@)-interesting.com (remove the hyphens and parentheses)
P.S. The information above was as complete and up-to-date at the time as I could make it. It should not be construed as providing legal advice. You should conduct your own legal research or contact an attorney.