Oregon Dive Flags
Rules for OR divers and boaters
Thanks to Bryan Saint Germain for helping to compile this information and keeping it current.
For Divers in Oregon
The Oregon Boater's Handbook published by the Oregon State Marine Board, states in the section titled "Diving":
A rigid replica of the alpha flag must be displayed on boats engaged in diving operations whenever these boats are restricted in their ability to maneuver by the diving operation. The flag should be at least one meter high and be visible all around the horizon. Oregon law recognizes that a red flag with a white diagonal stripe commonly called the "divers flag" indicates a person is engaged in diving in the immediate area. Displaying the "divers flag" is not required by law and does not in itself restrict the use of the water.
For Boaters in Oregon
The Oregon Boater's Handbook simply says:
When operating in an area where this flag is displayed, boaters should exercise caution.
Oregon Boating Regulation OAR 250-021-0030 more specifically states:
Operate at slow-no wake, maximum 5 mph, within 200 feet of a diving flag.
chris-(@)-interesting.com (remove the hyphens and parentheses)
P.S. The information above was as complete and up-to-date at the time as I could make it. It should not be construed as providing legal advice. You should conduct your own legal research or contact an attorney.