Rules for AK divers and boaters
For Divers in Alaska
According to the (January 2003):
Alaska law recognizes that a red flag with a white diagonal stripe (commonly called the “diver’s flag”) indicates a person is engaged in diving in the immediate area. Displaying the “diver’s flag” is not required by law and does not in itself restrict the use of the water. However, when operating in an area where this flag is displayed, boaters must stay at least 100 feet away from the flag unless they are operating at no-wake speed.
Some localities have more specific rules. For example, the City of Kodiak’s Port and Harbor rules state:
All divers shall prominently display a diver’s-down flag in the area in which the diving occurs with a minimum size of 12″ x 12″.
For Boaters in Alaska
As cited above, according to the (January 2003):
[W]hen operating in an area where this flag is displayed, boaters must stay at least 100 feet away from the flag unless they are operating at no-wake speed.
chris-(@)-interesting.com (remove the hyphens and parentheses)
P.S. The information above was as complete and up-to-date at the time as I could make it. It should not be construed as providing legal advice. You should conduct your own legal research or contact an attorney.